2022 09 10

Neo-Metabolism is a planetary research and design practice. We deal in futures, pushing for more fairly distributed agency, equity and resilience. Decentralised infrastructure, trustful networks and resistance to the status quo are themes that feature heavily throughout our propositions.

         Complementary to our self-initiated work, we seek long-term partnerships with other impact focused organisations. In these collabs, we act as a structure that supports, challenges, and advances the shared project. We provide substantial capacities on-demand: from critical cultural research and analysis, to organisational strategy, identity and narrative development, the design of graphics, objects and spaces, product prototyping, media and thought production. 

        Once, we were named after Metabolism (新陳代謝), an architectural movement rethinking urban life in post-catastrophe Japan. In response to the “world as factory” perspective of industrial modernity, the Metabolists relied on biological and ecological notions when conceiving architecture and infrastructure. They saw cities not as planned deployments, but as dynamic, living assemblages. They focused on relations, Group Form and change. We find their thinking useful today, as it offers the potential to move from anthropocentric to more-than-human worlding. To us, Metabolism highlights that material, information, and semiotic flows are deeply, wildly interconnected, and constantly in flux. We also follow feminist, new materialist thought, in the understanding that matter is vibrant, nothing is static, and tiny interventions can have a decisive impact on the whole.

        As a legal entity, we are a 100% member-owned cooperative under Dutch law. Our core crew is currently based in Amsterdam and Los Angeles.

say something insta tweets


Leeway Tools REAL Duran Lantink NAP Labs Living Systems


Georgia Kareola Carsten Goertz Clint Soren Ghikhan


Eric L. Chen


(2022) Jack Self Jasper Griepink Kavya Venkatraman, Nicholas Burman, Misha Kakabadze, Maithri Oskar Johanson Frédérique Albert-Bordenave Felix Luke Boju (2021) Kurt Heuvens Francesca Gobeille Marcus Schmickler Brian Shaw Tobi Energy Jochen Lauscher Paprika Xu Leonard Schrage Ivano Salonia (2020) Sean Murray Calvin Markus T. Khalifa Alex Singh Danylo, Joe.